Maureen O'Connor

Ohioans in a total of 12 counties will be required to wear masks starting Friday at 6pm. But there continue to be questions about the enforcement and legality of that and other public health orders, as lawmakers push back on some of the state’s COVID-19 responses.

The Lorain County Court of Common Pleas is restricting access to the courthouse and speeding up arraignments and hearings to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

The efforts started Wednesday with an order from Administrative Judge Raymond Ewers and will continue indefinitely.

Ohio's highest court has rejected a recommendation to allow judges throughout the state use “risk-assessment tools” to determine the amount of bail they require from defendants.