© 2022 WKSU
Public Radio News for Northeast Ohio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WKSU's Walton D. Clarke Fellowship

Walton D. Clarke and students

Honoring WKSU's founder and first General Manager, Walton D. Clarke, this graduate fellowship for newly enrolled students for Fall 2021 is a collaboration between Kent State's School of Media and Journalism and WKSU and is funded in part by generous contributors to a special endowment fund that provides a stipend to the selected student.

As a Walton D. Clarke Fellow, you will receive an intensive, real-world, hands-on professional experience in radio production and reporting. You will be part of an award-winning news operation and gain important real-world experience at a nationally recognized NPR affiliate, reporting and producing WKSU's Morning Edition.

Students interested in applying for the fellowship must be applying for enrollment for the Fall of 2021 and must do the following:


  • Academic Year Stipend
  • Full Tuition Remission
  • Health Insurance Credit of 70%.


  • Full-Time Student (8 graduate hours minimum)
  • Minimum of 3.0 GPA
  • A minimum of 20 hours a week at WKSU

Consideration of applications begins April 1, 2021.

Notable Past Walton D. Clarke Fellows:

  • 2018-2019 Lydia Taylor
  • 2016-2017 Michael Bratton
  • 2012-2013 Jasen Sokol
  • 2002-2004 Mandy Jenkins

For questions related to WKSU, please email news director Andrew Meyer.

For questions related to the Media and Journalism graudate program, please email Cheryl Ann Lambert.