© 2022 WKSU
Public Radio News for Northeast Ohio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

University of Akron Chooses University of Wisconsin Chancellor as Next President

The University of Akron named its 18th president today. The Board of Trustees voted unanimously this morning to appoint Gary L. Miller   to the position.

Miller comes to Akron from the University of Wisconsin Green Bay where he served as chancellor. 

He will take over from John Green, who has served as interim president since 2018. The University has been in leadership transition for several years since the appointment of Scott Scarborough in 2014. He served a tumultuous two years before being forced out and replaced by law professor Matthew Wilson. Wilson served two years and then stepped down to return to teaching in the law school. He left the university in May to become president of Missouri Western University.

A Northeast Ohio native, Sarah Taylor graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio where she worked at her first NPR station, WMUB. She began her professional career at WCKY-AM in Cincinnati and spent two decades in television news, the bulk of them at WKBN in Youngstown (as Sarah Eisler). For the past three years, Sarah has taught a variety of courses in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State, where she is also pursuing a Master’s degree. Sarah and her husband Scott, have two children. They live in Tallmadge.